Brave New Year

When there's a fork in the road, take it.

When there’s a fork in the road, take it.

It was inevitable; and with 20/20 hindsight, it should have been done since the beginning. But in the two years since the birth of the Roughly Translated blog, I was never really focused on the direction my blogging was following. Rather, I would scribble here and there about whatever felt good, whatever I had in mind. Though this was a good exercise for the novice writer, providing me very low barriers to actually putting pen to paper, it led to a corpulent and disorganized body of work that attempts to be many things while failing at most.

I have not allowed my ambition to fling me into the deepest of ends. But I have negotiated with it and my indolence to reach this compromise of the first categorization of my work; retroactive and forthcoming.

I have reserved this much-neglected space on the company website for posts that actually have to do with translation, localization, language and the like; and I will continue to use the old Roughly Translated space for personal entries. There of course may be some overlap in the two and I may post one entry on both sites (like a boss.) if I feel that the post covers both domains. Yet I hope to keep these selfish hybrid posts to a minimum.

For the time being, nonetheless, the old Roughly Translated blog still has every post ventured to be published and cast into the public eye, and the Z Squared blog has only those that relate to language and the translation/localization industry.

Thanks for following and stopping by. If you care not for heavy industry stuff, you can always see the lighter side of things with the Quality Control play I wrote or the translation memes I pump out.

Wishing you a very prosperous 2013!

Z Squared Blog

[image courtesy of http://oncampus.macleans.ca]

Leave a Reply

